Winners of the writing and illustration competitions are announced

The writing and artistic talents of primary and middle-school aged children from throughout the Great Lakes, Taree and Barrington has been acknowledged at an awards presentation on Friday afternoon, July 19.

The awards presentation was held at The Lakes Gallery, Forster and hosted by the Great Lakes Art Society, which this year came on-board as a major sponsor of the newly introduced illustration competition.

More than 70 eager young scribes entered the writing competition, while the illustration section attracted a field of more than 40 artists.

The writing competition was seen as an important platform for students with a creative gift to nurture their talents, Great Lakes Advocate senior journalist Jeanene Duncan said, while Nabiac Public School principal Kim Arandale encouraged students to continue entering the competition for as long as they were eligible.

Middle school students from Great Lakes College, Forster and Tuncurry shared the top honours in the writing competition.

Excellence awards were won by Great Lakes College, Forster Year 8 students, Ellie-May Lang, Jai Clifton, Year 7 and Tuncurry Year 7 student, Jake Thompson.

Highly commended were awarded to Year 8 Forster student, Ella Galle, St Clare’s High School, Taree Year 9 students, Medinah Wells and Yalanta Guthridge.

Students from Holy Name, Forster and Nabiac Public School dominated awards in the primary school category.

Year 6 Holy Name students, Kobi Critchley, Hannah Atkinson and Hannah Carmichael each took out an excellence award for their entries.

Year 5 students Bonnie McMaster, Simon Mouthaan, Archie Murray from Nabiac, Year 6 students, Selina Denyer and Nathaniel Graham, Barrington, Andrew Miller and Dylan Kinkade, Holy Name, Lucas Guiney, Forster, and Xavier Morris and Hayley Jones, Nabiac, all received highly commended.

Illustration co-judge and sponsor, Great Lakes Art Society (GLAS) president, Bettina Digby was delighted with the response for the first drawing competition.

The sophistication and imagination from some of the entries was amazing, she said.

Students from Years 5-9 were invited to illustrate winning entries from the writing competition.

Holy Name Primary School students, Dylan Kinkade, Kobi Critchley, Jonathan Botros and Hannah Atkinson received excellence and highly commended awards in the writing competition

Winning an excellence award in the illustration section were Year 6 students, Nick Tan, Bulahdelah Central, Jasper Jones, Pacific Palms and Dylan Kinkade and Hannah Atkinson from Holy Name.

Grace McClure, Year 5 and Sydney Wilshire, Year 6, Pacific Palms, Martina Poropat, Year 5, Lachlan Laws and Bridey McDermott, Year 6 Nabiac, Taylor Bakewell, Ethan Hudson and Isabella Trummel, Year 6, Holy Name, and Blake Matheson, Year 6, Pacific Palms were all highly commended.

In coming weeks stories will be published in the Great Lakes Advocate, while illustrations can be viewed at the Lake Street Gallery, Forster.